A Big School with a Big Heart

Header Image


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a very important stage in learning at Green Lane Primary Academy. Children develop quickly in the early years and our early years practitioners aim to do all they can to help the children have the best possible start in life.

Children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework which explains how and what your child will be learning. Your child will be developing skills, acquiring knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven main areas of development, made up of three prime areas and four specific areas.

The three prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The four specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The Learning Context

In order to maximise children’s interests, we have identified six learning contexts, one per half term, through which the above seven areas of learning will be delivered.

Nursery Learning Contexts
Autumn 1 Wriggle and Rhyme
Autumn 2 Making Sense of it All
Spring 1 What is a Fairytale?
Spring 2 Bears
Summer 1 Helping Hands
Summer 2

The curriculum is also flexible enough to include topical issues and appropriate current affairs, as well as, any opportunities for learning that arise from everyday situations. We believe that activities should always be relevant, imaginative, motivating, enjoyable and challenging. We have a structured play-based curriculum that is often built around real life situations and children’s own experiences.

View our Curriculum

View our Newsletters